Snapchat has launched a new feature called Memories that automatically saves your photos, videos and stories so you can upload them at a later date. Until now, posts were available for a maximum of 24 hours before being automatically deleted.
Launched in 2011, Snapchat has grown into one of the most popular social networks in the world. Figures released last month showed that more than 150 million people use it every day, compared to Twitter’s 140 million active daily users.
With the new feature, Snapchat users will be able to choose which photos they want to save for the future, as well as being able to search through them using particular keywords.
It will also allow you to edit old photos and send them out to your friends. This has led to criticism that posts will lose the rawness and honesty that Snapchat is known for. Although, any photos that are more than 24 hours old will have a white border to distinguish them from normal snaps.
This is an update I’ve been waiting for – I often take photos to share on Twitter or Instagram and then wish I’d taken one for Snapchat too. This solves the problem by allowing me to upload a photo from my Camera Roll after I’ve shared it with my other networks.
Don’t worry if you haven’t received the update yet. Snapchat will be sending users a message in the app when the new feature is available to them over the course of the next month. To make sure that you receive Memories when you can, make sure you’ve downloaded the most recent version of the app. Don’t forget to follow us on Snapchat too @Plus24Marketing.